Tricia Thompson, M.S., R.D.
Research published in the Journal and elsewhere strongly suggests that persons with celiac disease can consume moderate amounts of uncontaminated oats. Nonetheless, celiac disease organizations in the United States continue to ad- vise against the consumption of oats because of concern that commercial oat products may be contaminated with wheat, barley, or rye during harvesting, transporting, milling, and processing. However, little information is available on the contamination of oat products in the United States. Here I report an assessment of selected brands of oats for gluten contamination.